WK11–Artist Conversation–Soroush T. Moghim

IMG_2362

Exhibition Information

Artist: Soroush T. Moghim
Exhibition: Geometry of Grief
Gallery: Max L. Gatov Gallery East
Instagram: @soroushmoghim

About the Artist

So apologies in advance Glenn, but I wasn’t really able to get any information on the artist Soroush T. Moghim since we were about to talk with him when he was interrupted with lots of school children running inside his exhibit and he had to make sure they didn’t mess with any of his art pieces. I would have made my art blog on someone else but I decided to stick with Moghim’s exhibit because I really appreciated his work compared to the other artists.

 

IMG_2360

Formal/Content Analysis

Upon entering the gallery of “Geometry of Grief“, I noticed the same pattern that other artist’s galleries have, the room was dimmed down with soothing music playing in the background. This is a common practice that I see most artist do but I appreciate nonetheless 🙂 There wasn’t a lot of art pieces to go looking at but the few that there were around the room were pretty appealing to look at. Being inside the gallery, I read upon the Artist statement where I read that the point of the gallery is to be “sublime” and enjoying aspects in ordinary items. Just taking a look at the piece of the spinning violin on the ceiling (forgot the name >_<) just brings a sense of relaxation and one may appreciate the changing colors that act as a sort of “ground” for the violin (figure). Everything inside the exhibit caught my attention because everything was unique, like no 2 art pieces were alike in that sense. Combine that with the music and dim lights, and everything in there becomes “emphasized” to the viewer and they start to see what Moghim was talking about, embracing human imperfections and just searching for the sublime in everyday things.

IMG_2363

Synthesis / My Experience

All in all, this art gallery was really nice to look at and appreciate all the art pieces. It was a shame that I wasn’t able to talk to Soroush and get more insight to his art gallery but I enjoyed it nonetheless. I really did feel a sense of “beauty” and “sublime” vibes while being inside the art gallery, which is something I don’t often feel on my day to day basis.

Leave a Reply

